quote for blog

Although the actual origins of Teacher Appreciation Week are not certain, we do know that Congress declared National Teachers Day in 1980. In 1985, the Parent Teacher Association established the first week in May as National Teacher Appreciation Week . It has been celebrated annually ever since.

There are many great ways to show your appreciation for teachers. Each student can bring a flower to his/her teacher, creating a beautiful bouquet. Donating books, toys or your time shows your child’s teacher that you appreciate all that he/she does for your child. Last, but definitely not least, thank a teacher!

At ESNG, we have over 175 teachers in our 11 child development centers. This week, we profiled some of those teachers on our Facebook page. Here’s a quick recap in case you missed it:

tara

Name: Tara L. Komenda Maloney
Child Development Center: Madison Co.
Classroom: G (goldfish)

Why did you start teaching? I always wanted to be a teacher when I was little. When my oldest daughter started Head Start, I volunteered every day. When a position opened up the center manager asked if I would be interested. This was twenty years ago and I still love it.

What’s your favorite part of teaching? I like watching the children’s faces as they explore and learn new things.

How do you hope your teaching will benefit your children as they enter K-12 school? My goal is to get the children in my classroom on an age appropriate level and teach them social skills that will follow them through their entire life. I would like them to become an active part of their community and give them early opportunities to succeed in public school.

teacher appreciation

Name: Patricia Shepherd
Child Development Center: Sylvan Hills

What’s your favorite part of teaching? Maya Angelou said it best in several of her following quotes: “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” This quote inspires me to greet my students with a hug and smile each morning. “If you are always trying to be normal you will never know how amazing you can be.” This quote inspires me to push my children and go beyond the norm in teaching various concepts. “You may encounter many defeats but you must not be defeated.” I am encouraged by this quote the most to continue when I feel like giving up but encouraged when a child hugs me and say, “I love you Mrs. Shepherd. You’re a good teacher.” Now I can smile.

How do you hope your teaching will benefit your children as they enter K-12 school? My philosophy is that learning should not only be fun but it should awaken a child’s cognitive skills to inspire them to think outside the box. I have been educating young minds for over twenty-two years. I am the parent/teacher that neighborhood children would come over to observe science experiments. I have been volunteering and an active participant in various community affairs such as the Library Board for several years. I have received awards from many of my community involvements. The most recent one was from the Parent Academy for outstanding participation. I have a degree in Human Services along with certification in Child Development. I also have a background in business and finance. My goal is to continue mentoring and engaging young minds in a way that they will be encouraged in making a difference in their lives and the lives of others in their community.

hardgeName: Anginette Hardge
Child Development Center: Walton Co.
Classroom: B

Why did you start teaching? I love kids. I love helping them and watching them grow and learn.

What’s your favorite part of teaching? Hearing or observing a child repeat what I taught them.

How do you hope your teaching will benefit your children as they enter K-12 school? I hope that the children will remember the things that I have taught them. The tools that I believe I have given them will prepare them for success in school.

mansellName: Bernice Revan Baptiste
Child Development Center: Mansell
Classroom: K

Why did you start teaching? I started teaching because I was inspired by my elementary teacher Ms. Gerroah, who followed us from the 4th, 5th, and 6th grades. She really left an impact that will follow me for the rest of my life.

What’s your favorite part of teaching? My favorite part of teaching has been the appreciation of the parents. I believe that if I have the same impact on the children I teach that Ms. Gerroah left upon me, I will truly touch their lives. I really love when children leave my care, go to elementary school and revisit me. This touches me.

How do you hope your teaching will benefit your children as they enter K-12 school? My passion is the children – being able to assist them in their developmental skills and education is what drives me.

These are just several of our many great teachers, all of whom we love! To all of our teachers, we say a huge and heartfelt THANK YOU!

What’s the best piece of advice one of your teachers gave you?

Leave a Reply

